DIY : Cooling Bath Powder (Summer Special)

Hope you all are safe at home with all your family members. How are you guys spending time at home? I thought of sharing this DIY with you guys that I tried recently so you all can try this too while we are all locked in. I am definitely going to try some new DIY products for my skin and hair during this quarantine. Will try to share more posts like this so stay tuned.

Now, let’s talk about today’s DIY. I saw some DIY bath powders related posts on the Instagram some time ago and I wanted to make one for myself too ever since. Finally, that day arrived and I tried one. Let me tell you what I used and how you can make it too.

Rice Flour : 1 tablespoon

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is 20200330_194127.jpg
Rice Flour

Rice flour is one of my absolute favourite kitchen ingredients to use in my skincare DIYs. It brightens up my skin like anything, tightens pores and removes tan and gently exfoliates the skin too. Basically it does everything I can ask for to improve my combination-oily skin. And therefore, I have used this as the main ingredient of this bath powder.

Kaolin clay : 1 Tablespoon

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is natures tattva.jpg

Since childhood, I have used Multani Mitti (Fuller’s earth) on my skin and loved the results except one thing that it used to leave my skin really dry. That’s why I find Kaolin clay better than Fuller’s Earth because it doesn’t make my skin excessively dry but is very effective in cleansing and detoxifying the skin. It is suitable for all skin types and has excellent cleansing properties. It draws out impurities, treats acne, removes dead skin cells and deep cleanses the pores.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is 20200330_194339.jpg
Kaolin clay

Lemon Peel Powder : 1 teaspoon

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is blenditraw.jpg

Lemon peel powder clears up the skin revealing brighter and smoother complexion as it provides mild exfoliation and also helps in reducing blemishes and dark spots. The antioxidants present in lemon peel help in reducing hyper-pigmentation. The citrus scent makes the bathing experience very refreshing as well.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is 20200330_194625.jpg
Lemon peel powder

Mint Powder : 1/2 teaspoon

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is 20200330_204031.jpg

Mint powder has a refreshing and soothing effect on the skin. It has anti bacterial properties which helps in treating acne so, if you have acne, mint powder is what you need. The cooling effect helps soothe irritated or sun burnt skin which is a common issue during summer. Like lemon peel powder, mint has a refreshing fragrance too so you will end up smelling minty fresh all day after using this bath powder.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is 20200330_194952.jpg
Mint powder

Simply mix all the ingredients and store in a container. You can make more if you think you can use it all in 3-4 weeks. Use a dry spoon to take out the required amount of this bath powder and mix with water/ hydrosol/ milk/ curd/ aloe vera gel whichever suits your skin best. I like to add vetiver hydrosol to make the paste. Apply the paste all over your body and scrub gently when it is semi dry. Simply rinse it off with water but if you like you can use soap and water although that’s not necessary. It makes my skin really soft and supple as it doesn’t dry it out while taking away oil and dead skin cells.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is bath powder.jpg
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is diybathpowder.jpg
That’s how it looks when mixed with vetiver hydrosol.

Hope you find this post useful and will try this DIY.

~GM~

4 thoughts on “DIY : Cooling Bath Powder (Summer Special)

Leave a comment